Twitch is streaming all of classic Doctor Who, but sorting out Australian streaming times could be tricky. I got bored, so I sorted out times and dates. Warning: Contains traces of terrible time puns.

The news that Twitch was going to stream all of classic Doctor Who was something of a surprise, given how carefully the BBC has controlled access to the whole series to date.

Sure, it’s been here and there on services, but never a full smorgasbord of the classic shows at the one time. Not even on the short-lived paid BBC iPlayer (which I wrote about here and here) had the whole lot.

That was probably to preserve the DVD sales figures, but it’s fair to guess that most of the fans that want those have those by now. Actually, if you’re keen, I’d recommend those anyway, even if you’re wary of what some now refer to as a “legacy” format. You end up owning the shows (rather than hoping a streaming service will show them), and you get the excellent info text commentaries on each episode. They’re wonderful, and easily the best use of the DVD format I’ve hit, bar none. It’s a model that so many TV shows could have adopted, but only Doctor Who did.

But I digress… back to the Twitching.

DoctorWho.TV recently put up provisional listings for Twitch streaming in the US and UK (you can find it here), but missed out on Australian streaming times. I looked at it, thought “that can’t be that tricky” and worked it out in my head… and below.

Using its listings as a base, I’ve adjusted for Australian Eastern time for each block, which means (for the most part) that it runs on a Tuesday to early Saturday schedule, using the UK timetable as a basis. Obviously if you’re in the central or western time zones, adjust accordingly. Also, make a LOT of coffee if you think you’re going to get through 200+ hours of Doctor Who watching in the month. That’s a LOT of time lord to take in one hit.

It’s a provisional timetable, so it is subject to change, and it’s possible I’ve made some kind of date or time error in the table below. I’d blame the timey-wimey nature of it.

Date Adventures 1st Run 2nd Run 3rd Run
Wednesday, 30 May 2018 An Unearthly Child, The Daleks , The Edge Of Destruction 4:00:00 AM 9:51:00 AM 3:42:00 PM
Thursday, 31 May 2018 The Keys Of Marinus, The Aztecs, The Sensorites 4:00:00 AM 11:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Friday, 1 June 2018 Planet Of Giants, The Dalek Invasion Of Earth, The Rescue, The Romans 4:00:00 AM 10:45:00 AM 5:30:00 PM
Saturday, 2 June 2018 The Web Planet , The Space Museum, The Chase 4:00:00 AM 11:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Tuesday, 5 June 2018 The Time Meddler, The Ark, The Gunfighters, The War Machines 4:00:00 AM 11:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Wednesday, 6 June 2018 Tomb Of The Cybermen, The Ice Warriors, The Enemy of the World 4:00:00 AM 11:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Thursday, 7 June 2018 The Web Of Fear, The Dominators, The Mind Robber 4:00:00 AM 10:46:00 AM 5:33:00 PM
Friday, 8 June 2018 The Krotons, The Seeds Of Death, The War Games 4:00:00 AM 12:40:00 PM 9:20:00 PM
Saturday, 9 June 2018 Spearhead From Space, The Silurians 4:00:00 AM 8:57:00 AM 1:54:00 PM
Tuesday, 12 June 2018 The Ambassadors Of Death, Inferno 4:00:00 AM 10:18:00 AM 4:36:00 PM
Wednesday, 13 June 2018 Terror Of The Autons, The Mind Of Evil, The Claws Of Axos 4:00:00 AM 10:18:00 AM 4:36:00 PM
Thursday, 14 June 2018 Colony In Space, The Daemons, The Curse Of Peladon 4:00:00 AM 10:45:00 AM 5:30:00 PM
Friday, 15 June 2018 The Sea Devils, The Mutants 4:00:00 AM 9:24:00 AM 2:48:00 PM
Saturday, 16 June 2018 The Time Monster, The Three Doctors, Carnival Of Monsters 4:00:00 AM 10:18:00 AM 4:36:00 PM
Tuesday, 19 June 2018 Frontier In Space, Planet Of The Daleks 4:00:00 AM 9:54:00 AM 3:48:00 PM
Wednesday, 20 June 2018 The Green Death, The Time Warrior, Invasion Of The Dinosaurs 4:00:00 AM 10:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Thursday, 21 June 2018 Death To The Daleks, The Monster Of Peladon, Planet Of The Spiders 4:00:00 AM 10:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Friday, 22 June 2018 Robot, The Ark In Space, The Sontaran Experiment, Genesis of the Daleks 4:00:00 AM 10:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Saturday, 23 June 2018 Revenge Of The Cybermen, Terror Of The Zygons, Planet Of Evil, Pyramids Of Mars 4:00:00 AM 10:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Tuesday, 26 June 2018 The Android Invasion, The Brain Of Morbius, The Seeds Of Doom 4:00:00 AM 9:18:00 AM 4:36:00 PM
Wednesday, 27 June 2018 The Masque Of Mandragora, The Hand Of Fear, The Deadly Assassin, The Face Of Evil 4:00:00 AM 10:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Thursday, 28 June 2018 The Robots Of Death, The Talons Of Weng-Chiang, Horror of Fang Rock 4:00:00 AM 10:18:00 AM 4:36:00 PM
Friday, 29 June 2018 The Invisible Enemy, Image Of The Fendahl, The Sunmakers, Underworld 4:00:00 AM 9:52:00 AM 5:44:00 PM
Tuesday, 3 July 2018 The Invasion Of Time, The Ribos Operation, The Pirate Planet 4:00:00 AM 10:18:00 AM 4:36:00 PM
Wednesday, 4 July 2018 The Stones Of Blood, The Androids Of Tara, The Power Of Kroll, The Armageddon Factor 4:00:00 AM 10:46:00 AM 7:32:00 PM
Thursday, 5 July 2018 Destiny Of The Daleks, City Of Death, The Creature From The Pit, Nightmare Of Eden 4:00:00 AM 10:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Friday, 6 July 2018 The Horns Of Nimon, The Leisure Hive, Meglos, Full Circle 4:00:00 AM 9:31:00 AM 5:03:00 PM
Saturday, 7 July 2018 State Of Decay, Warriors’ Gate, The Keeper Of Traken, Logopolis, K9 And Company 4:00:00 AM 12:06:00 PM 8:12:00 PM
Tuesday, 10 July 2018 Castrovalva, Four To Doomsday, Kinda, The Visitation 4:00:00 AM 10:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Wednesday, 11 July 2018 Black Orchid, Earthshock, Time-Flight, Arc Of Infinity 4:00:00 AM 10:18:00 AM 4:36:00 PM
Thursday, 12 July 2018 Snakedance, Mawdryn Undead, Terminus, Enlightenment 4:00:00 AM 10:12:00 AM 6:24:00 PM
Friday, 13 July 2018 The King’s Demons, Warriors Of The Deep, The Awakening, Frontios, The Caves Of Androzani 4:00:00 AM 1:00:00 PM 1:00:00 PM
Tuesday, 17 July 2018 The Twin Dilemma, Attack Of The Cybermen, Vengeance On Varos 4:00:00 AM 9:24:00 AM 2:48:00 PM
Wednesday, 18 July 2018 The Mark Of The Rani, The Two Doctors, Timelash 4:00:00 AM 10:18:00 AM 4:36:00 PM
Thursday, 19 July 2018 The Trial Of A Time Lord 4:00:00 AM 10:18:00 AM 4:36:00 PM
Friday, 20 July 2018 Time And The Rani, Paradise Towers, Delta And The Bannermen, Dragonfire 4:00:00 AM 10:18:00 AM 4:36:00 PM
Saturday, 21 July 2018 The Happiness Patrol, Silver Nemesis, The Greatest Show In The Galaxy, Battlefield, Ghost Light 4:00:00 AM 11:24:00 AM 6:48:00 PM
Tuesday, 24 July 2018 The Curse Of Fenric, Survival 4:00:00 AM 7:29:00 AM 10:18:00 AM

I love the fact that you could relive all sorts of ABC adventures with Doctor Who, given that there are both screenings that hit awfully close to that classic “around 6pm” time that Doctor Who had in the 70s and 80s, as well as the “around 4am” times that I recall from the early 90s when for whatever reason the ABC put Doctor Who in the death slot… unless you happened to be a university student with lots of time on his hands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.